ICSA awards honor individuals whose contributions to ICSA and the cultic studies field merit special attention. Awards are not annual, so there may be years when there is no recipient for a particular award. Awards are given out during ICSA's annual conference.  ICSA gives out three awards (not necessarily every year): Herbert L. Rosedale, Margaret T. Singer, and Lifetime Achievement. ICSA also honors individuals by asking them to give the Paul R. Martin Memorial Lecture at our conferences. See People Profiles page for biographical sketches.

Herbert L. Rosedale Humanitarian Award 

Herbert L. Rosedale Humanitarian Award: "in recognition of leadership in the effort to preserve and protect individual freedom, help victims, or inform society about ethical and legal dimensions of the cult phenomenon." 

Rosedale Award Recipients

2018: Rita Swan, PhD

2016: Steve K. D. Eichel, PhD

2014:  Rev. Robert and Judy Pardon

2013: Roberto Asquini; Cristina Caparesi

2012: Carolle Tremblay

2011: Daphne Vane

2010: Arthur A. Dole, Ph.D

2009: Francois Bellanger, Ph.D.

2008: National Network of Lawyers Against Spiritual Sales (Japan)

2007: Michael Kropveld

2006: Paul L. Martin, Ph.D.;  Rod Dubrow-Marshall, Ph.D.

2005: Josep Jansa, M.D.;  Miguel Perlado, Ph.D.

2004: Alan Scheflin, J.D., LL.M.

Margaret L. Singer Award

Margaret L. Singer Award: "for advancing the understanding of coercive persuasion, undue influence, and psychological manipulation."

Singer Award Recipients

2020: Debby Schriver

2018: Dan Shaw, MSW

2015: Diana Pletts

2014: Livia Bardin, MSW,  Ann Stamler, MA, MPhil,  Steven Hassan, MEd, LMHC, NCC

2012: Stephen A. Kent

2011: Álvaro Rodríguez-Carballeira, Ph.D

2010: Facilitators who helped develop the Colorado Model of ex-member recovery workshops: Leona Furnari, M.S.W., Carol Giambalvo, Rosanne Henry, M.A., L.P.C., Hal Mansfield, Joyce Martella, M.A., Michael Martella, Ph.D., and Nancy Miquelon, M.A.

2009: Lorna Goldberg, M.S.W., L.C.S.W.

2008: Carol Giambalvo

2007: Janja Lalich, Ph.D.

2006: Arnold Markowitz, C.S.W.

2005: Carmen Almendros, Ph.D.

2004: Philip Elberg, Esq.

Paul Martin Lecturer

Paul Martin Lecturer: "honors the memory of the late Dr. Paul Martin, founder of Wellspring Retreat and Resource Center, researcher, clinician, and advocate for the victims of psychological manipulation and abuse."

Martin Lecturers

2018: Panel substitution for scheduled lecturer who could not make the meeting: Rod Dubrow-Marshall, Facilitator; Jon Caven-Atack; Linda Dubrow-Marshall; Gillie Jenkinson; Jill Mytton; Alex Stein; Christian Szurko

2016: Robert and Judy Pardon

2015: Gillie Jenkinson, MA

2014: Alan Scheflin, JD, LLM

2013: Lois Kendall, PhD

2012: Ron Burks, PhD

2011: Carmen Almendros, PhD

2010: Rod Dubrow-Marshall, PhD

Lifetime Achievement Award

Lifetime Achievement Award:"honors individuals who have, to an exceptional degree, embodied in their work ICSA’s values of openness, courtesy, and dialogue, and who have made academic and/or other exceptional contributions to the field of cultic studies." 

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

2022: Joseph Kelly

2018: Carol and Noel Giambalvo

2016: David Clark

2016: Joseph Szimhart

2013: Eileen Barker, PhD; Friedrich Griess

2011: Patrick L. Ryan

2010: William Goldberg, M.S.W., L.C.S.W., Psy. A.

See People Profiles page for biographical sketches of award recipients.